Tomorrow I go back to school after having a much needed break. A lot happened over the course of these two weeks but I'll just give you the short version. 

My last day of school was Friday the 20th. After the long journey of the candy canes, they finally made their way into the hands of my students. The kids went crazy for candy canes, although some were disappointed they were mint and not strawberry flavored. The last day of school before break, no matter where in the world you are, is kind of a pointless day. Attendance is low, exams are finished and students and teachers alike have tuned out. Most teachers had nothing planned so I got to show the Will Ferrell film 'Elf' while wearing a Santa hat and handing out candy. 

That Saturday I made my way to Malaga because my flight was leaving from there Sunday morning. I checked into a very nice hostel and spent the day sight seeing. This was my third time in Malaga but I had never stayed more than a few hours. I checked out an old castle and the port and finished up my Christmas shopping. 
From Malaga I took a direct flight to London. Everything went smoothly and Leah, Alan & Theo met me at the train station. I spent a couple days at their house relaxing, catching up with family, and eating well. It was so great to see everyone and be with family after 3 months away from home. On Christmas, a relative of my cousins, a 4 year old called Eloise, arrived at the house in a princess dress. I spent the night playing princesses with her and running back and forth from the dinner table to "our palace" aka the kitchen. At one point, I was pushing in chairs at the table and I heard a little voice say "Excuse me!" I looked down and there was Eloise under the table. She looked at me and said in a whisper "Please don't tell anyone!" She then proceeded to bang on the table and make animal noises. Someone heard her and looked around and said "Oh, it's just Ellie!" 
Picture
Out for a walk in Greenwich Park
Picture
My favorite X-mas present: a vintage kimono from Aunt Leah
On the 27th, Michael, Theo & I went to Barcelona. We arrived at night, dropped our bags at our apartment and immediately went out exploring. Wandering the streets aimlessly pretty much sums up our week in Barcelona. Most nights we went out with no destination in mind. During the day, we ate well and checked out several tourist attractions. It's hard to recount all that happened in that week but let it be known that we had a fantastic time with lots of laughs (and tapas). 
On New Years Eve we had a fantastic dinner: garlic shrimp, octopus, steak, fish stew, passion fruit cheese cake and red wine. After dinner we headed to Plaza Catalunya, the center of the city, where we bought a bottle of champagne and waited for the bells to toll. In Spain there is a tradition of eating a grape with each ringing of the bell. Each grape represents one month of the year and for each grape you successfully eat you will have one month of good luck. I was dead set on trying this tradition although Mike dismissed it. At midnight all three of us began to stuff our faces with grapes. Mike and Theo succeeded and I began to choke. I was only able to stomach 6 grapes before I gave up completely. Looks like I'll only have good luck half the year...
Leaving Barcelona was incredibly sad. It meant not seeing my family for a while, returning to work very soon and being on my own for a bit.
Picture
View from our terrace
Picture
In front of one of my favorite buildings: Casa Batlló, designed by Antoni Gaudi to resemble a dragon
Picture
Playing hide-n-seek in Park Guell, also designed by Gaudi
Picture
Boys mean mugging at our favorite coffee corner
Picture
A typical feast prepared by the boys
Picture
Inside Gaudi's most famous building, La Sagrada Familia, a church that has been under construction for over 100 years. I remember the first time I came to Spain in 2008, they predicted it would be done by 2013... It is still under construction and predicted to be finished anywhere from 2020-2040.
Picture
Just before midnight at Plaza Catalunya
Picture
New Years Day at the Magic Fountain of Montjuic, the fountain dances and changes colors to playful music
We all left Barcelona on the 2nd and I headed to Valencia. I thought I would stay two nights but upon arrival, I felt certain I wanted to go back to Granada ASAP. That night I had dinner with a friend who is from Valencia but had studied at UNCW. It was nice to chat with someone who knows and understands the people and places that I miss. The next day I walked all around Valencia's city center and visited the market and a few churches. Later in the day I took a bus to the City of Science and Arts. My favorite part of the city was a park that I discovered while looking at Google Maps aerial view. The park is a giant structure of Gulliver and kids climb all over him. It looked like so much fun; however, I think I'm too old to be climbing up rope ladders and going down slides. Overall, I wasn't very impressed with Valencia, Spain's 3rd biggest city after Madrid & Barcelona. I think Barcelona is a hard act to follow...
Getting back to Granada felt better than expected. My roommate and a few friends welcomed me at the house and we ordered some pizzas. The next day I just rested and yesterday my best friend Martina returned as well. Yesterday and today are holidays in Spain, celebrating the Three Magic Kings. Santa Claus isn't really a big deal here because every year on the night of January 5th, the Three Magic Kings bring presents to the boys and girls of Spain. Martina and I went to the parade through the center of town and I jumped up and down like a little kid (although I didn't cry when I couldn't catch any candies). 
After the parade we went for a drink and at the restaurant they gave us a piece of cake called Roscon de Reyes. It reminds me of the cake eaten at Mardi Gras because in it is hidden a small king and a bean. The person who finds the king is the winner and the one who finds the bean must pay for the cake. Neither Martina nor I had the king or bean in our pieces, but the cake was delicious. 

Tomorrow I go back to school and I imagine it will be a challenge for both teachers and students to get back in the swing of things. 
Happy New Year, everyone! 

Love,
E
Jerry Hausman
1/7/2014 07:50:22 am

Ellie Just loved seeing and reading of your activities after leaving London, What a great BLOG. Keep them coming! LOVE Grandpa

Reply
jerry hausman
4/21/2014 07:14:02 am

Ellie : What a wonderful blog! I so enjoyed the images of you , Michael, and Theo. Mark my words, you will enjoy them as the years go on. It was great talking with you earlier today. I so look forward to your visit this Summer. LOVE Grandpa

Reply



Leave a Reply.