It's hard to believe I have been in Guatemala over a month (and that I haven't written more). Here is my update of the past few weeks:

  • I picked up a book last week called How to Steal Like an Artist. I read half of it before bed and the rest in the morning. It is a short book about creativity that was truly inspiring. A few parts I couldn't get on board with but several chapters really lit a fire under my @$$. Before I left for Guatemala,I laid out a few goals for myself that I neglected upon arrival. Among them: meditate, practice yoga, hike, help at the local school and other personal goals for my physical and mental well-being. Here are a few quotes that spoke to me and helped me yo revisit my initial goals: "Steal from anywhere that resonates with inspiration or fuels your imagination. Devour old films, new films, music, books, paintings, photographs, poems, dreams, random conversations, architecture, bridges, street signs, trees, clouds, bodies of water, light and shadows. Select only things to steal from that speak directly to your soul. If you do this, your work (and theft) will be authentic."-- Jim Jarmusch
  • "Whenever you're at a loss for what move to make next, just ask yourself 'What would make a better story?'"
  • "Establishing and keeping a routine can be even more important than having a lot of time."
  • I have started using all of the above quotes, and so much more, to inspire me. This past week has been filled with goodness.
  • I met a beautiful girl named Bird who showed me her art. From that day on I have been painting water colors. It has been so delightful!
  • I have practiced yoga twice and the instructor LeeLee is such an inspiration. Her teaching is so full of passion and her energy is contagious.
  • I went to school for craft club and had goofy conversations with the kids while putting together puzzles and making friendship bracelets. On the way there, I greeted every man, woman and child who crossed my path. One group of young girls stopped to chat. In English, the littlest one asked "What's your name?" I replied and we both began to dance the funkiest little dance in the middle of the road. It was a mix of the Chicken Dance and the Charleston. They all giggled like the little school girls they are as I danced down the road headed in the opposite direction.
  • Every day I show guests a map of hiking trails in the area and explain how to do a 90 minute loop (having never done it myself). So after craft club I went for a hike on my own, without a phone or camera, nada. Just a map that I have seen dozens of times, a water bottle and strawberry wafers. I hiked up and around through fields of flowers, forests of pines and oaks and by small homes. I came across a group of teenage boys with shovels in hand, looking like they were in the midst of farm work and I asked what they were up to. "Chatting" they replied and we had a good laugh as I powered up the dirt hill. At one point I doubted my own instructions and took a turn with great hesitation. I chose not to ask for directions as I passed a smiley, local woman carrying her baby on her back and balancing a bottle on her head. We said "Buenas tardes" and I continued down, down, down. Finally, I stopped to ask a little girl how to get to the pila (a water station where women go to wash their clothes just near the lodge). She offered to show me the way and ran ahead of me barefoot. I struggled to keep up but within 3 minutes I was back at the top of the hill I call "home".
  • The bugs in my room struck back so the other night I got to stay in our coveted Tree House. It is booked almost every night til the end of August but I lucked out Wednesday night. It is constructed in an oak tree(that shakes when the wind blows) with a huge window looking out at the valley. The bathroom has a wide, open window so you can do your business or take a shower with the fresh breeze and breath-taking vista. I woke up at 6AM just to take a picture at dawn.
  • I went down to Antigua a couple of times. I went to the market and bargained for a top I (kinda) wanted. It was listed as 90 Quetzales ($12) but I didn't have enough. I told the woman I still had to pay my bus fare and I really wanted, no NEEDED, an ice cream. We went back and forth until I told her I just couldn't pay the price. She relented and let me take it for 70 Quetzales ($9.33). Victory!
  • I also went to a Mayan cosmology museum and got a free tour. Main take away: 'The End of the World' last December was all a hoax. None of their writings had any mention of such nonsense.
  • In the Central Park, I was approached and interrogated by half a dozen school boys who trembled as they spoke. When they walked away, an old man named Francisco chatted me up. He works in real estate and his office is the park. He arranges meetings and says 'You'll find me in the park. I have a moustache, wear a black cap and a green shirt.' He pays no rent or electricity and his clients find him without fail. Francisco wished me the best of luck in my future endeavors and we parted ways.
  • In a week I will have my last shift at Earth Lodge. As a common theme in my life, and particularly this last year, indecision haunts me. My original plan was to go south to El Salvador and Nicaragua, but I am now considering going north to Mexico instead. Ayayay... Any input is welcome. Leave a comment and cast your vote!
¡Hasta luego amigos!

Did
7/13/2013 05:57:43 am

Traveling within can be has gratifying as traveling beyond. Keep the journey going for a lifetime. Thanks for sharing!

Reply
jerry hausman
7/14/2013 04:39:32 am

Ellie What a wonderful letter! I cannot offer any advice re:going north or south. Both sound great! Just toss a coin and then travel in the direction that the "spirit" moves you! LOVE Grandpa

Reply
Unc. Brian
7/14/2013 06:41:12 am

One thing is clear, you are not in Glenview anymore. Sounds like an amazing experience. Your openness to explore is very impressive to me. We will keep an eye on your blog. Thank you for sharing.

Reply



Leave a Reply.