Mon Ami

A charming hotel in front of Lago Petén Itzá

Colors of the Caribbean

Fresh water with small schools of fish

A refreshing breeze and a breath of fresh air

How to leave a place so beautiful



The door to the dorm

A ceiling to the first level

But a door to the second

Above the stairs like an attic door

But twice the normal size

Made of dense, dense wood

To open, one must not use their head for it is much too heavy

Two hands pushing with ten times the force used for a usual, vertical door

To keep it open, a rope-pulley system

(Which I find out later has come undone)

When I complain to the owner, Don Santiago Billy, he huffed and puffed

Claiming it was a simple task

That the door opens with just the tip of your index finger

I huff and puff back that it's hard for a young lady like myself

In Spanish, but with a French accent, Santiago replies

"No, it's easy for a lady. Maybe it's difficult for a girl from San Diego"

I laugh and for the remainder of my stay Don Santiago continues to tease me



I don't want to go just yet

I struggle to open my door

But run down the stairs

"How hard would it be to change my ticket?"

No verbal response as Santiago makes moves for the phone

I ask again

He reminds me it's Sunday, the day of rest

Maybe his driver has gone to bed early

He ends his thought and starts his call

With a grin he says "It's okay. We are here to serve you."

He then leaves a facetious voicemail,

"Hey, so it turns out the girl is bothering me again. She doesn't want to leave tomorrow."

When the driver calls back minutes later, I breathe a sigh of relief

It's settled, I'll stay another night

"Feliz como un lombriz."

Huh?

"You're happy as a worm."



With big headphones on

Santiago cleans a small glass case

I sneak a peek

Tiny, colorful gems

"Marry me & I'll cover you in diamonds."

Oh, silly Santiago!

How I will miss you



Santiago's Neighbors

The neighbors of Santiago are young

"They throw parties and steal my internet and my dock!"

Bad vibes, says Santiago

Buena onda, I say

Two Guatemalans, two Argentines

An archaeologist, a writer

A juggler in a contemporary circus

That's to say, there's no tent

And the last guy, well I don't know his name

Nor his profession

I just know his smile

We swim, we smile

We dry off, we swim

We eat, we drink

We laugh, we play

A game of chess

The pieces not black vs. white

Spanish vs. Inca

He wins, I lose

We hug, we say goodbye

See you soon, see you in Nicaragua



Lake Lights

24 white lights

2 blinking red

1 small, glowing city in the distance

1 shining star

7PM

2 massive clouds iluminated by lightening

Like lightbulbs in lampshades

An airplane?

No, a shooting star!

Countless stars

9PM

Only the sun on the horizon

5:45AM



Bicycle Baker

Bakery on a bike arrived to the dock

Brown bread, carrot bread, banana bread

Bird tours by boat

Lou, the bicycling baker, talks politics

"Ya understand?"

He doesn't like Facebook

Nor "Tweeter"

Why? "Because they're spyin on us! Ya see?"

Facism, corruption, votes, oil

Corruption. Causes? Remedies?

"Take it to the streets! A good candidate will pop up."

We hope...



In the night, Lou's carrot bread was attacked

Maybe by rats or ants

Maybe both

The next day, in a town 30 minutes away

The bicycle baker is back!

He is at the window of my van

And he hands a carrot muffin through the window

"A gift for my friend"

This makes up for the creepy crawlers who thieved my bread in the night





Elizabeth
8/4/2013 07:48:10 am

Love this!

Reply



Leave a Reply.